Back in the Saddle Again

After a lengthy break from blogging I’m back at it.  It has been an eventful time in the last couple weeks the most exciting was being the Math Chair-person for the provincial Math and Science conference.  I created a wiki for people who came to see my presentation but more exciting than that was that the conference was almost entirely paperless.  We purchased a thumb drive for each person that came to the conference and I had the honor of filling 360 thumb drives full of data. 

But I digress there was another more interesting thing that I thought about/discovered:

While I was in Kipling we allowed Facebook usage for the students.  That meant once a month or so when Facebook would change their privacy policy I would take the students through their options.  I realize more and more there are skills with Social Media that the students need to learn.  One of which is that they do have a right to privacy even on social networks.  Over the last few weeks I got curious about a few old students and decided to look them up on Facebook.  I was proud when I saw that they had no visible information, not even the ability to add them as friends.  They had taken control over their online profiles and even though I was curious about how they were doing I was more impressed that they were figuring things out for themselves.

About mrthejud

I'm a teacher at Greenall High School in Saskatchewan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

