An Interesting Problem

For my Media Production class I had a group of students working on a Machinima style video (using Halo 3 to act out scenes for a video that they are making).  I left the room for a moment and came back and the students were playing the game improperly.  I told them to get focused and play the game the way they were supposed to.  At which point one student said to the other, “You know that is the first time that I’ve ever been told by a teacher to focus on my Halo playing”.  The students then had a debate whether that was a good or bad thing.

The interesting thing I find that is that they came up with that it was a bad thing.  They realized that by including the video games they loved in a project they were then creating a thought that playing that game was work.  In hindsight I realize that it is a fine line that we walk between incorperating pop culture and involving the students that way and having them back off because it is co-opting their interests and using them for education.

About mrthejud

I'm a teacher at Greenall High School in Saskatchewan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An Interesting Problem

  1. A conversation I had with my 21-year-old-college-student-daughter about eci831 recently echos this sentiment.

    She went on a rant about how some of her teachers have attempted to use Facebook to communicate with them. She says THAT is totally unacceptable. Facebook is just for fun, for kicking back, relaxing, sharing goofy photos, etc. It should never be used for school (or work).

    So there. Humph.

  2. Jamie says:

    I have heard this sentiment echoed a few times around Twitter and even in my own school. A lot of our students like to keep their “professional” student selves separate from their private kid selves. I completely understand this feeling because I, too, like to keep my Facebook personal and my Twitter professional (though they do cross the lines sometimes.) The difference here being that it is ME who makes the choice to crossover. It makes you think…

  3. byrnesa says:

    I agree with what you are saying as I, like Jamie, also like to keep Facebook for personal and Twitter for professional and I like the point she made saying that at least I get the choice… but… it seems this topic is somewhat of a double edged sword. If we don’t try and enagage students by including things they enjoy as part of our instruction, then school is boring and they don’t want to be there etc… yet, when we do try, we’re crossing into their territory. You’re right Jud, as educators it seems we are constantly walking a fine line…

Leave a Reply

