Facebook Security

This post isn’t terribly related to the class but I will keep it short.  I just finished reading the article here. To summarize it, if you are using a unsecured wireless network at your house or a coffee shop etc it is trivial for a different person on the network to gain access to your Facebook account or many other accounts listed in the article.  Please use caution and good judgement while using unsecured connections.  Unfortunately its stories like this that make schools nervous about allowing free and open access to their networks.

About mrthejud

I'm a teacher at Greenall High School in Saskatchewan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Facebook Security

  1. J says:

    I think it is definitely related to class. Thanks for sharing this!

  2. Ok I’m revealing my ignorance here, but what exactly is an unsecured wireless network?

  3. Shawna Stangel says:

    Thanks for sharing this Jud! One part of this that really struck me was a portion of the quote “Websites have a responsibility to protect the people who depend on their services. ” The first thing that popped into my mind when I read this was, “What happens to the meaning of this article if I were to replace the word “Websites” for “Teachers”? I firmly believe that a large portion of our professional responsibility is to educate our students about the ways to make safe and positive choices – this includes choices with their online life.

    • lewisv says:

      I agree with Shawna and others. Thanks for brining this to our attention, Jud. I think the information is extremely relevant to our class. In fact, I have never given much thought into any issues of using an unsecured wireless network – especially within my own home. I like Shawna’s thought in relation to puting the word “Teachers” in place of “Websites” in terms of protecting the people we serve. I can see I have much further learning to do about this digital world in order to help students implement safeguards and protect their online identities. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

